Tuesday, May 6, 2008

May 6

Hi everyone!

I have 3 main interests or loves. They are my Family, my religion, and the things i enjoy making.

My Family: I've been married for 8 years to a wonderful man, and we have 3 boys. Joseph is 5, and he'll be 6 in October -- he's very excited about going to Kindergarten this fall. Cole is 3, and he'll be 4 in August -- he's my little helper, though he's being especially stubborn about toilet training. Then there's Taw, our little miracle baby; he was born 3 weeks early on March 07 with a birth defect that nearly killed him but thanks to the quick actions of the Doctors at Primary Children's Medical Center (Salt Lake City, UT) he is doing ever so much better now, though he will need one more surgery.
Our Family lives near Vernal in Maeser (Utah), we are only 30 miles from the western border of Colorado on Hwy 40.

My Religion: I am, actually the whole family is, a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, or LDS. Our religion is also known as Mormons. I love Jesus Christ and am so very grateful for the Atonement, and for all that our Church stands for. It is a very family oriented religion but our foundation is Jesus Christ.
When you become an adult, you are often asked to serve in "callings;" so my current callings are Visiting Teaching Supervisor and Humanitarian Aid Specialist.

The things I enjoy making are mostly due to my love of sewing, quilting & crocheting. I have many, many unfinished quilts (UFO's), though I have completed a few mini-quilts which are scattered around my living room. I really love to sew, so the quilting just gives me one more excuse to use my sewing machines (not that I really need an excuse). I do make clothing as well, though mostly just children's. I recently completed a beautiful miniature White Satin Tuxedo which I used for Taw's Baby Blessing on Sunday May 4th. I have also been making baby dresses, our friends in Craig, CO have been the recipients of those. I have been contemplating making Blessing/Christening Dresses and Boys' outfits for sale. Anyone interested?
As for the crocheting, well all I make anymore are hot pads [using the pattern that Mom learned on her & Dad's mission to Nauvoo IL] and occasionally dishcloths from cotton yarn. I have also made baby & large afghans, but I like the projects that don't require quite so much time to complete.

=) Gayle